Sign In

​​​​​ Historical Background

Those who have an idea about the legal system in Palestine - throughout the ages - know that it has differed from one period to another due o political, social and economic conditions  Palestine went through because of the change in regimes and powers that ruled it. It was under the Ottoman reign for a period of time where the Ottoman legislations were applied, then it went through the British Mandate that has issued several laws, regulations and orders which have been applied to it being one of the United Kingdom colonies.

This continued until the end of the British Mandate on Palestine in 1948, where it was replaced with the Israeli occupation taking over part of Palestine and establishing the so called State of Israel. Israel issued legislation serving the occupation in the judaiztion of Palestinian land. The remainder of Palestine was devided to two territories, one was subject to the Egyptian administration (Gaza Strip), and the other (West Bank) was subject to the Jordanian Administration from 1948 to 1950. Jordanian laws were then applied until 1967 when Israel occupied the remainder of Palestine (Gaza Strip and the West Bank) where it issed numerous Military Orders that caused nullifying and amendeing several existing laws and regulations to serve the interests of this occupation and give it control over Palestine. 

When the Palestinian National Authority (PA) arrived and took over a part of Palestine, the President of the PA / Yasser Arafat issued decision No. 1 of 1994 to continue using laws, regulations and orders existing before June 5th 1967 in the Palestinian territories (West Bank and Gaza Strip) until they are unified.

First: the Ottoman Empire

In  the likes of other Arab states, Palestine underwent the Ottoman reign for around four centuries during whi9ch several laws were issued to organize the political, economic and social situation in the Ottoman Empire. 

The penal legislation had special importance, as it was the key to security, safety, jusitice and fairness. It focused on identifying prohibited courses of action and sets the penalties for such actions. It also clarifies how powers are used in all procedures in a manner that guarantees them being right and just .

The Ottoman legislator made sure these powers are given to  an honest body capable of practicing them fairly and accurately. The legislator also provided the necessary guarantees to prevent them from expanding the use of these powers. The legislator adopted the accusatory investigation system through giving a public body the powers to investigate and make accusations in crimes before courts where the employees of this body were appointed in accordance with the law to perform their duties.

There is no doubt that the legal articles in the Ottoman Penal Procedures Law included clear provisions with no ambiguity in which an independent public body was given the task to set cases into motion and follow up on them, and the law set special rules and provisions for practicing this duty.

Article 1 of the Ottoman Penal Procedures Law stipulates: "the  claim to make legal penalization is a public right, therefor filing such cases is the duty of officers appointed by the law..."  ​


Second: the British Mandate

After the war ended and the United Kingdom took over Palestine in 1917, it was subject to military administration for a period of time until the Mandate was issued. It issued the Palestinian Constitution of 1922, in which the third chapter included provisions on the Legislative Authority, Article (17/1 /a) stipulates: "the high commissioner shall have the absolute power to issue the necessary laws to promote security and order  and regulate governing if Palestine without prejudice to the powers of His Majesty or the powers maintained for His Majesty in accordance with this declaration taking into account the terms and boundaries set in the instructions given to him under His Majesty's Sign Manual and Signet, or through the secretary of state..." and it was amended by declarations issued in 1923, 1933 and 1935. Then articles 18-34 were nullified through the amended declaration of 1939, which included special provisions on forming the members of the legislatibe council as well as their powers and jurisdictions in issuing laws.

Article 46 addressed the legislations to be applied, it stipulates:

"The jurisdiction of the Civil Courts shall be exercised in conformity with the Ottoman Law in force in Palestine on November 1st, 1914, and such later Ottoman Laws as have been or may be declared to be in force by Public Notice..." In light of issuing Law No. 21 of 1934 amending the code of pleadings, the legislator gave the power to conduct penal procedures before courts  to the attorney general or his representative, police officers, or any person allowed by any law in force to do such acts. The law allows police officers to plead cases in any penal procedures given that these procedures are initial investigations or partial trials. Article three of the Code of Penal Procedures based on Reported Complaints of 1934 or article two of the Conciliation Courts Mandate of 1924, any person who files a complaint in accordance with these provisions may plead his case either by himself or through a lawyer before the conciliation court.

​Third: the Egyptian administration in the Gaza Strip : -

Gaza Strip underwent the control of Egyptian forces in 1948, the administrative governor issued Ordinance No. 6 of 1948 which stipulates that all courts continue working in the areas under the control of Egyptian forces in accordance with the laws, bylaws, ordinances and instructions in force before 15 May 1948. The Public Prosecution continued working with the same system used at the time of the British Mandate until Ordinance No. 473 of 1956 was issued by the General Administrative Governor of Gaza Strip; the mandate of the Public Prosecution was identified in this ordinance, article one stipulates "the Public Prosecution shall be specialized in investigating crimes and filing and conducting criminal cases. The Attorney General may mandate whom he requires from the employees and police to perform the duties of the Public Prosecution."

Thus the Public Prosecution became the competent body to file and conduct public cases, as it was vested with the power to investigate all crimes and prosecute criminal incidents before courts. The Attorney General was allowed to mandate any employee or police officer to perform any task relevant to the work of the Public Prosecution (investigation - pleading). Article five of the same ordinance gave representatives of the Attorney General the power to issue arrest warrants, and investigation warrants (search houses), in accordance with the Code of Penal Procedures (arrest and investigation), which were the jurisdiction of conciliation judges.

Ordinance No. 554 of 1957 was issued, which gave the Attorney General and his representatives the power to investigate suspicious deaths, and gave him the competencies provided for in the Suspicious Deaths Law of 1926 which were the jurisdiction of investigation judges.

Fourth: the Palestinian National Authority

Article 1 of the Code of Penal Procedures No. 3 of 2001 stipulates:

"The right to file and conduct a penal action is vested exclusively in the Public Prosecution, and it shall not be filed by others except in those cases where the law provides otherwise."​​​

​According to this provision, the Palestinian legislator gave the Public prosecution the right to file and conduct penal cases on behalf of the society and call for penalizing the accused before the penal judiciary.

تسجيل الدخول

النيابة العامة الفلسطينية

إن المتتبع للنظام القانوني في فلسطين ـ على مر العصور ـ يجد أنه قد إختلف من فترة زمنية إلى أخرى نتيجة للظروف السياسية ، والاجتماعية ، والاقتصادية التي مرت بها بحكم إختلاف السلطات ، والإدارات التي حكمتها ؛ حيث خضعت للخلافة العثمانية فترة من الزمن ، طبقت خلالها التشريعات العثمانية التي تلتها فترة الانتداب البريطاني ، الذي أصدر العديد من القوانين ، والأنظمة ، والمراسيم ، طبقت عليها باعتبارها مستعمرة من مستعمرات المملكة المتحدة .

واستمر هذا الوضع ؛ حتى جلاء الانتداب البريطاني عن فلسطين عام 1948 ، وقيام الاحتلال الإسرائيلي باحتلال جزء من فلسطين ، أقام عليها ما يسمى بدولة إسرائيل ، وأصدر التشريعات التي تخدم تكريس هذا الاحتلال ، في تهويده للأراضي الفلسطينية ، وإضفاء الصبغة اليهودية عليها ، في حين انقسم الجزء الباقي من فلسطين إلى منطقتين ، منطقة أخضعت للإدارة المصرية (قطاع غزة) ، ومنطقة أخرى (الضفة الغربية) أخضعت للإدارة الأردنية من عام 1948 حتى عام 1950 ، ثم طبقت القوانين الأردنية ، حتى عام 1967 ، حيث إحتلت إسرائيل البقية الباقية من أرض فلسطين (قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية ) أصدرت خلالها الكثير من الأوامر العسكرية طالت فيها الكثير من القوانين ، والأنظمة التي كانت سارية المفعول بالالغاء ، والتعديل لما فيه من مصلحة تكريس هذا الاحتلال ، وبسط نفوذه على فلسطين .

وعند قدوم السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية ، وتوليها لسيادة على جزء من فلسطين ، أصدر رئيس السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية / ياسر عرفات القرار رقم 1 لسنة 1994 قرر فيه إستمرار العمل بالقوانين ، والأنظمة ، والأوامر التي كانت سارية المفعول قبل تاريخ الخامس من حزيران لسنة 1967 في الأراضي الفلسطينية (الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة )حتى يتم توحيدها .

أولاً : فترة الخلافة العثمانية :-

خضعت فلسطين كباقي الدول العربية إلى الحكم العثماني فترة من الزمن قرابة أربعة قرون أصدرت خلالها الكثير من القوانين لتنظيم الوضع السياسي ، والإقتصادي والإجتماعي داخل الممالك العثمانية .

وكان للتشريع الجزائي أهمية خاصة باعتباره مفتاح الأمن والأمان والعدل والإنصاف ، كونه ينصب على تحديد المسالك والأفعال المحظورة قانوناً ويضع العقوبات المترتبة عليها ويوضح كيفية إستعمال السلطة لكافة الإجراءات بشكل يضمن سلامتها وعدالتها في مواجهة الكافة.

ولقد حرص المشرع العثماني وضع هذه الصلاحيات بيد جهة أمينة قادرة على أدائها بشكل أمين وسليم وأحاطها بالضمانات اللازمة لمنع توسعها في استعمال هذا الحق وإعتمد نظام التحقيق الإتهامي والمتمثل في إناطة صلاحيات التحقيق والإتهام في الجرائم أمام المحاكم لجهة عمومية يتم تعيين أشخاصها وفقاً للقانون للقيام بوظائفهم.

ومما لا شك فيه أن المواد القانونية التي اشتملها قانون أصول المحاكمات الجزائية العثمانية احتوى على أحكام واضحة لا لبس ولا غموض فيها استأثر فيها جهة عمومية مستقلة مهمة تحريك ومباشرة الدعوى العمومية ووضع ضوابط وأحكام خاصة عند قيامها بممارسة هذا الحق.

فنصت المادة الأولى من قانون المحاكمات الجزائية في القانون العثماني على ) إن الإدعاء بإجراء المجازاة القانونية على الإطلاق ، هو من الحقوق العمومية وعليه فإقامة مثل هذه الدعاوي ، ترجع إلى المأمورين الذين عينهم القانون فقط …) .

ثانياً : فترة الإنتداب البريطاني :-

بعد أن وضعت الحرب أوزارها وبسطت المملكة المتحدة البريطانية سيطرتها على فلسطين عام 1917 أخضعتها للإدارة العسكرية فترة من الزمن ؛ حتى صدور صك الإنتداب ، فأصدرت مرسوم دستور فلسطين لسنة 1922 الذي احتوى الفصل الثالث منه على أحكام خاصة بالسلطة التشريعية فنصت المادة (17/1/أ) على )يكون للمندوب السامي السلطة التامة لوضع القوانين الضرورية لتوطيد الأمن والنظام وانتظام الحكم في فلسطين بدون إخلال بالسلطات المستقرة في جلالته أو المحتفظ بها لجلالته بمقتضى هذا المرسوم مع مراعاة الشروط والقيود التي تنص عليها التعليمات التي قد يصدرها له جلالته، مختومة بختمه، وتوثيقه ، أو بواسطة الوزير(… وقد تعدل بالمراسيم الصادرة في السنوات (1923،1933،1935) ثم ألغيت المواد من 18-34 بالمرسوم المعدل لسنة 1939 والتي تضمنت أحكام خاصة بتأليف أعضاء المجلس التشريعي وسلطاتهم وصلاحياتهم في إصدار القوانين .

وأوردت المادة 46 منه على التشاريع الواجب تطبيقها بأن نصت على :

( تمارس المحاكم النظامية صلاحياتها وفقاً للتشاريع العثمانية التي كانت نافذة في فلسطين في اليوم الأول من شهر تشرين الثاني سنة 1914 وسائر القوانين العثمانية الصادرة بعد ذلك التاريخ والتي أعلن أو قد يعلن باعلان عام سريانها في فلسطين … )وعلى ضوء صدور قانون تعديل أصول المرافعات رقم 21 لسنة 1934 أعطى المشرع صلاحية إقامة الإجراءات الجزائية أمام المحاكم بالنائب العام أو ممثله ، أو أي مأمور بوليسي أو أي شخص يجيز له أي قانون معمول به إذ ذاك إقامة تلك الإجراءات وقد اجاز القانون لأي مأمور بوليس المرافعة في أية إجراءات جزائية متى كانت تلك الإجراءات تحقيقات أولية أو محاكمة جزئية ، وأجاز أيضاً لأي شخص قدم شكوى أو تهمة بمقتضى أحكام المادة الثالثة من أصول المحاكمات بناء على الشكيات الإخبارية لسنة 1934 أو بمقتضى المادة الثانية من قانون صلاحية محاكم الصلح لسنة 1924 أن يرافع إما بنفسه أو بواسطة محاميه في الاجراءات القائمة أمام محكمة الصلح بشأن الشكوى أو التهمة المرفوعة منه .

ثالثاً : فترة الإدارة المصرية على قطاع غزة :-

خضع قطاع غزة لمراقبة القوات المصرية عام 1948 وأصدر الحاكم الإداري الأمر رقم 6 لسنة 1948 الذي يقضي باستمرار المحاكم بكافة أنواعها ، بالمناطق الخاضعة لمراقبة القوات المصرية في أعمالها طبقاً للقوانين ، واللوائح ، والأوامر والتعليمات التي كان معمولاً بها قبل 15 مايو سنة 1948 ، وقد إستمر أداء النيابة العامة لأعمالها بنفس النظام الذي كان قائماً زمن الانتداب ؛ حتى صدور الأمر رقم 473 لسنة 1956 عن الحاكم الإداري العام لقطاع غزة ، والذي حدد فيه إختصاصات النيابة العامة ، بأن نصت المادة الأولى منه على ) تختص النيابة العامة بالتحقيق في الجرائم ، ورفع الدعوى الجنائية ومباشرتها ، وللنائب العام تفويض من يشاء من الموظفين ، ورجال البوليس ؛ للقيام بأي عمل من أعمال النيابة العامة ) .

بذلك أصبحت النيابة العامة صاحبة الاختصاص في تحريك ، ومباشرة الدعوى العمومية ، بأن أناط بها صلاحية التحقيق في كافة الجرائم ، والإدعاء أمام المحاكم في الوقائع الجنائية ، وخول النائب العام تفويض أي شخص من الموظفين ، أو مأموري البوليس القيام بأي عمل يدخل ضمن أعمال النيابة العامة (التحقيق – المرافعة) . كما أناط الأمر ذاته في المادة الخامسة منه ، بممثلي النائب العام ، سلطة إصدار أوامر القبض ، والتحري (تفتيش المنازل) ، طبقاً لما هو وارد في قانون أصول المحاكمات الجزائية (القبض والتحري) ، والتي كانت من إختصاص حاكم الصلح .

ثم صدر الأمر رقم 554 لسنة 1957 الذي أعطى النائب العام ومن يمثله صلاحية التحقيق في الوفيات المشتبه فيها ومنحه الاختصاصات الواردة في قانون الوفيات المشتبه فيها لسنة 1926 والتي كانت من اختصاص قاضي التحقيق .

رابعا : فترة السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية :-

 نصت المادة (1) من قانون الإجراءات الجزائية رقم (3) لسنة 2001 على :
( تختص النيابة العامة دون غيرها بإقامة الدعوى الجنائية ومباشرتها ولا تقام من غيرها إلا في الأحوال المبينة في القانون ) .
فوفق هذا النص خص المشرع الفلسطيني النيابة العامة باستئثار إستعمال الدعوى الجزائية ومباشرتها نيابة عن المجتمع ولها المطالبة بتوقيع العقاب على المتهم أمام القضاء الجزائي .

 ​